Should I leave program?

SarahSapouckey

Hi, I really just need advice from people knee-deep in a PhD or have gone through this before, as I have no one to really talk about with this in my program and I tried with a faculty member and now I am afraid I am the black, hated sheep of the program. I joined a Molecular and Cellular biology program this fall and have been here 2 months. Despite number of things like misunderstanding their 'interdisciplinary' approach, and a terrible first rotation, I realize this was just simply the wrong choice. I am not passionate about the research, and I truly want to be in a neurosciences program. You are probably wondering why I joined MCB then. I simply messed up. I went with the program that I have a bachelors degree in (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) and what was expected of my after graduation. I though since this was an interdisciplinary program that had a few neurosciences members I can make it work. But I can't, I am not passionate about the program or the research in the program, and frankly the people are mean (although that is a silly reason to leave). I asked the program director is it is possible to switch to the neurosciences program as they have some overlapping and my first semester wouldn't be wasted. He was very offended and suggest I make MCB work and now I think the program doesn't like me at all. Yay. However, I have a meeting with the Director of Graduate studies next week to talk about possibilities of switching. My questions is, has anyone switched program before, and if I can't switch, should I consider leaving and re-applying to grad school next year. I see a few problems with this, Like I am a quitter, but I also realize I am just not a good fit for this program and I do not want to spend my life doing Molecular biology and genetic research. Is it possible to get accepted into another school after leaving a PhD program? Does anyone have experience? Thank you.