Graduate Transfer Credits for Ed.D/Ph.D. programs

econteacher

Hi all. So I'm in the early (very early) stages of thinking about Ed.D/Ph.D programs, and am looking for an answer on transfer credits for doctoral programs.

The impetus for this question came from browsing the Curriculum and Teaching Ed.D at Teachers College. It's a 90 point program, and a maximum of 40 can be transferred from graduate study at another institution (link to the details here). Other programs I've looked at are similar, and use similar verbiage.

I have a Master of Arts in Teaching, so I have already earned close to the maximum number of credits to transfer. I am curious if anyone has experience, whether it is with TC in particular or doctoral programs in general, with transferring grad credit. Are institutions pretty relaxed about it, accepting most/all of the credit? Is it a pretty detailed audit that they act stingy with?

Obviously, it's impossible to know for sure, but I just want to have some sense of whether I'd be looking at a manageable 50 or 60 credits of work if institutions are generous, or a more daunting course load of closer to 90 credits if they are stingy.

Thank you all!

It really, really depends on the department.