Letter of Recommendation

Katiex3

Question

Hi everyone,

I've been out of school for over 2 years and now I'm getting ready to apply to grad school. I emailed a professor to ask about a letter of recommendation over a week ago and haven't heard back yet. 

My first question is how long should I wait before following up, and how should I follow up? 

Also, I was a complete hermit in undergrad. The professor I reached out to is the only one who's class I even participated in, and it was a small class of about 10 so I feel she would likely remember me. I sent her my resume and final paper for her class, as well as explained a bit about what she did for our specific class to refresh her memory. 

If this professor does get back to me and says no, I'm honestly of options. Does anyone have any advice in this situation? Would it be weird to email a professor who's class I never even spoke up in and who probably wouldn't remember me?

I have plenty of people I can ask on the professional side, as I've opened up a lot since starting to work. Unfortunately I can't go back and change how I was in school and I'm kicking myself for it now. 

1 answer to this question

38 minutes ago, Katiex3 said:

Hi everyone,

I've been out of school for over 2 years and now I'm getting ready to apply to grad school. I emailed a professor to ask about a letter of recommendation over a week ago and haven't heard back yet. 

My first question is how long should I wait before following up, and how should I follow up? 

Also, I was a complete hermit in undergrad. The professor I reached out to is the only one who's class I even participated in, and it was a small class of about 10 so I feel she would likely remember me. I sent her my resume and final paper for her class, as well as explained a bit about what she did for our specific class to refresh her memory.