First email to prospective advisor

shatun92

Good day,

I will be applying to Master of Science in Electrical Engineering and I would like to get a feedback on my email to prospective advisors:

Dear Dr [Last Name],

My name is [First name Last name] and I will be applying for Master of Science in Electrical Engineering with concentration in Power Engineering. I graduated with Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from [University 1] and currently, I am post-baccalaereuate student at [University 2], where I take graduate level classes in power systems.

I have read your paper [Last name et al] in [journal name] and I am curious about your plans to follow up on this line of research. As I am very interested in joining your group to do research in , I wonder if you accept graduate students for the Fall 2017? If so, I would greatly appreciate the chance to have a short phone or Skype conversation with you to discover the possibilities of me joining your group at [school name].

8 hours ago, TakeruK said:

This is good. If you did research at University 1 or University 2, write a 1 sentence summary of your work in the first paragraph as well. You may also want to consider attaching a short CV.

I am doing research at University 2 and have done another at another university. At University 1, I have done a Capstone (Senior Design) project that involved building a physical device but it took me almost 6 months of research of figuring out how to do it. I will add summary of research in introduction.

I keep getting different comments about CV. Some people say that it's too pushy to attach CV in the first email, while others recommend doing so. I am still debating about doing it.

But I appreciate your comment and input. Thank you.

10 hours ago, shatun92 said: