Language Proficiency... what do they mean?

killerbees

Hi,

This is my first post. Place seems like a great resource. I wish I'd found it before I submitted all my applications. :)

I have a question about language proficiency. Almost all of the programs to which I applied require something along the lines of "proficiency in a modern foreign language." Beyond that, it gets a bit vague. I'm applying to two-year Master's in IR-type programs, some theory and some area studies, to give you an idea of what they may be looking for as far as languages. For schools, let's say Georgetown, SAIS, AU-SIS, and GW. Most likely, I will be required to pass a test proving proficiency in a foreign language at some point during my two years in grad school.

I lived overseas for the past four years and I studied the language of the host country while I was there. I'm having a hard time assessing my language skills however, partly because I'm not sure exactly what these schools consider proficient. Do they want me to be able to go to the market and converse with the fishmonger? Or do they want me to be able to discuss the underlying reason for the current political unrest? Etc. I'd imagine it's more of the latter but I could be wrong.

I need to make a decision soon about signing up for additional language classes to make sure that I am indeed proficient. Does anybody have a clue as to what the subject matter is on the sort of language tests given by any of the above schools?

Cheers.

Also, my apologies if this subject has been broached previously. I did a search but didn't find anything. And if it's in the wrong place, my apologies again.

They likely mean that you need to be able to read a scholarly text in a foreign language and understand it. That is the most common type of requirement for a foreign language proficiency in grad school. Beyond that it usually is much more specific to the program/field/school.