Junior POLS student wanting to go to grad school

JPhoenix

Hello, I am a Junior student at Southern Illinois University. I am wanting to go to graduate school and I am simply looking for some advice. I have done great so far in my undergraduate years with an overall G.P.A 3.92. I am a political science major and I wish to continue on in graduate school studying American politics. I have looked at schools in which are rated high for the discipline. Other than my GPA I have been involved on campus in organizations and have volunteered. My pols gpa I believe is 3.7. I am wanting a PhD in political science (American Politics). Schools on my mind are U. of Michigan, Michigan State, U. of Wisconsin, U. of Minnesota, and North carolina. I will be applying for graduate school in fall 2010, so I am wanting to make sure I am in the best position possible to get into the schools I have listed above. I plan on taking the GRE this August, but of course I worry about that cause I hate standardized tests. So basically I am asking for any advice of things I should do to make sure I have the best chance to get into a grad school I want. Thank you for any advice. Also any other schools that I am overlooking would be appreciated (dont mention ivy leagues cause im not into those schools). Again thank you.

If you are interested in American politics can I assume you want to do quantitative methods as well? If that is the case I also recommend MIT, TAMU, Rochester, Duke, and Ohio St in no particular order. These programs have strong quantitative methods and are supposedly great places to do American politics.