Nervous about Low GRE Score

rigirl1995

I took the GRE recently and scored a 151 quantitative and 152 verbal. I studied really hard, and I do not want to drop any more money on the test with application deadlines so close. I am an engineering major, and I have done well in all my calculus based math course, but I struggle with the math on the GRE. I think I studied too broadly and never mastered difficult questions. The PhD program I am most interested in told me research matters the most. After that a competitive applicant is someone with a GPA at or above a 3.0 and a quantitative score at or above 155. I know I'm only 4 points off, but I worry my extensive research experience and 3.5 GPA won't be enough. Is a lot of a experience ever enough to compensate for a low score?

I do not believe that there is any correlation between doing very well in Calculus courses and performing well on the GRE. I based this on the fact that I also did very well in Multivariable Calculus which was the only math course I took since the Fall semester of my freshman year.

I bought 3 GRE practice books and realized that although I could do the math, I always ran out of TIME. I had to change my approach which included reading the questions and graphs very carefully the first time (I have a habit of reading problems twice to ensure my understanding) and doing many practice problems at a faster rate of speed. Doing problems at faster rate of speed also meant I had to avoid careless mistakes which was not always an easy task. 

55 minutes ago, rigirl1995 said:

The PhD program I am most interested in told me research matters the most.

Your 3.5 GPA, extensive research, SOP, and LORs are 4 out of 5 things your PhD program will be considering so I believe these can help compensate for your GREs.

48 minutes ago, rigirl1995 said:

I studied really hard, and I do not want to drop any more money on the test with application deadlines so close.