PhD Program. What're my odds?

college12349

Question

Hello all,

I am currently an undergraduate at a small northeastern university. I am interested in getting my PhD in I/O Psychology from places such as UMD, Baruch, Penn State, GWU.

I currently have a 4.0 GPA, have co-authored an article being sent out to a journal, am working on a second thesis, and am lab director of a research lab. I have yet to take the GRE, but I am confident.

I know admission to PhD programs are tough. Based on my brief descriptions, what do you think of my chances?

4 answers to this question

Just building off what Blackwater said, though your GPA is without a doubt impressive, it may not be taken as seriously depending on the "prestige" of your school. However, if that is the case, you can combat that with a strong GRE. That GPA and a high GRE can get you into a lot of places so long as your SOP and LOR's are sufficient. Committees will also be very receptive to the publication and other credentials on your CV. With that said, I would encourage you not to get set on a few particular schools quite yet. Rather, constructive a tentative list based on research interests. Make sure that list includes schools that are relatively diverse in rankings. Use this website http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-graduate-schools/top-humanities-schools/psychology-rankings/page+6. Pick a couple from the top 10, top 20, top 30, and so on. I am pretty sure psychology is an ultra competitive field in academia, so getting into the highest ranked school you can is important.