Fall 2017 Anthropology Applicants

Just a display name

Hey everybody, 

Just wondering if anyone waiting it out has applied to Anthro programs this Fall. I guess I'll start, I've applied to 3 MA programs at IUPUI, Ball State, and SIU Carbondale. I'm in archaeology, and am hoping to research prehistoric North American arch, specifically Mississippian/Fort Ancient relations. I've been working in the CRM field for the past 3 years, and as some of you might know, you hit a wall as a field technician without a MA. So that's my goal, get an MA, then an RPA, and perhaps eventually a PhD! I would love to direct my own field school one day.

My GRE scores really sucked (154 V/147Q/ 4.5 AWA), but I'd like to think everything else I have on my applications are pretty damn solid. I've worked in an arch lab setting for 4 years and have copious amounts of fieldwork experience. I'm currently on a Phase III project excavating a mound! I've got two co-authored reports and a number of lithic analysis contributions as well ...but I am going CRAZY waiting to hear back from these schools. I try to forget about it so I don't worry as much, LOL. 

So anyone in the field of anth (any subfield) applying to graduate school this fall/year? I'd like to hear about your research ideas and perhaps we can share our anxiety of this process! :) Good Luck!!

Edited by Just a display name

I have applied to 4 PhD programs (I can't really afford the 5th MA program app fee... oops!). I'm archaeology, too! Although my experience is in the American Southwest/zooarchaeology. My experience is very similar to yours: solid experience/GPA with "ehh" GRE scores (156V/141Q/4W). I also had some solid LoR but your application seems to be a lot stronger than mine.