Switching PhD Field...Is it possible?

auburn_sprite

Question

I'm currently in my second semester of a PhD program in biomedical science at a research one institution. I am very unhappy at this univeristy and at first thought it was the stress starting a new program halfway across the country. Now I realize that I don't feel passionately about my reseach, the courses, or the university. After a lot of soul searching I have realized I want to go into public/global health. 

So, is it possible to reapply to public health programs? Will my reputation be damaged by leaving my PhD program for a new field? Will other grad schools see this as a major flaw? I don't want to ruin my chances at a higher education, but I'm just not where I belong. 

At my current univeristy I have a 3.6 (4.0 scale) GPA and will probably be earning a 4.0 at the end of this semester. I did withdrawl from a course first semester however.

I did my undergrad at a small public university and had a 3.4 GPA. B.S. in Biology. 

4 answers to this question

Would you be able to find a different supervisor/research topic at your current university that is more related to public health? What field/topic would you like to pursue if you switch to public health? If you are unhappy with your current institution or program, it is definitely not too late to switch to Public Health PhD. Some institutions allow transfer credits so your 1st year courses can count towards your degree. Grad schools won't see it as a major flaw as long as you have a justification (more interest in public health). 

I would recommend staying with your current program and apply for different programs at the same time because you do not want to let go of your current degree before you have something else in place.