Young artist, how to start your first exhibition?

Mi5lakie

Question

I'm majoring in communication arts, mainly producing media arts. I'm making decisions between doing UI/UX design, or doing something more speculative/artsy and having exhibitions.

I'm super curious about how to get into the world of artists, galleries and museums? Do artists reach out to galleries by themselves? I have seen that some admitted grad students have a list of exhibitions and awards when they are at school, just feel like I'm not "active" enough. Anyone have suggestions? Thx!!

1 answer to this question

I have a BFA in Visual Arts-photography and I'm now trying to get into grad schools for communication design, so I'm going to say I'm at least slightly qualified to answer your question.

To start, I would say it definitely depends on where you are living. I'm in Louisiana, so I'm sure things are probably a bit different here from other places, but I'm sure some things are the same. In the city I live in, a lot of the galleries are run by people who are fairly young, so they're always looking for artists that are still in school/just out of school. In those cases, it's completely fine to approach the galleries yourself. Try calling to set up a meeting to have someone view your portfolio. Also, it's a good idea to attend arts events and openings in your area. That way you're able to start networking with people who could possible help you out at some point.