How to get lab experience in US to attend best Schools of Chemistry ?

AlexisPinet

Question

Hi everybody,

I am a french student I got B.S in biochemestry and M.S in Pharmaceutical Sciences and Drug Discovery with High Honours (around 14/20). I have to mention I got quite few chemistry lectures I mainly learned everything by myself.

During my last internship I did a quite interesting work on total synthesis during 6 months and I am now willing to continue in this field since I literally had a crush for this kind of work.

I would like to apply in graduate schools with preference for very good universities (Top 20).

I’ve got 6 months experience in Molecular Modelling and 6 months in Organic Chemistry, I feel like it is not enough compared to US students who sometime got many months of experience and some of them already got their names in publications.

I would like to have lab experiences in US but I do not really know how to do...I don't even know if I have any chances to get hired in private labs with a 6 months experience...

I also plan doing all required tests (GRE and Toefl) but for what I know the scores does not really matter.

So if you have any tips I’ll take it !

Thank’s

1 answer to this question

Hello Alexis,

It's always competitive here, and it's a tough political environment for foreign students, but there's probably a way to make research work! I guess my first advice would be to contact as many potential labs as possible. :) Professors are busy but I've found that they generally love to talk about their work and how you could fit into it. I would recommend against opening the conversation with "would you be willing to employ me", though, because that could put them in an awkward position. Look at some of the big state schools outside the "top 20" as well, they often have a lot of funding and are more open to foreign students.