health insurance for international students with graduate assistantships

I was wondering if anyone can recommend an insurance provider that they had positive experience with? I am an international student and my GA benefits does not include health insurance. The university recommends International Student Protection, but it's extraordinarily expensive for someone on assistant-ship salary. I believe we are not limited to buying insurance targeting at international students and scholars unless we plan to travel outside the US regularly.

For those who had positive experience with a certain type of insurance provider, can you share the name of the company and where were you when you filed claims with this company? I've heard that the well-known International Student Insurance (isoa.com) is pretty much a scam company that turn down most of the claims, although it's relatively inexpensive. I'm looking for honest insurance that willingly provides coverage as it purports to, even if the co-pay is slightly high. My location will be Tennessee.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Edited by xyzpsych

I replied to your other post earlier and didn't realise you were an international student (since you asked about being over 26 and not being able to use your parents' plan, so I had assumed your parents were in the US and had a plan). Sorry for the wrong assumption.

To be honest, most US insurance companies suck. Their motivation and goal is to make money, not to help people. My school has used Aetna and UnitedHealthCare. They are both okay. Some people have great experiences and some have very bad experiences. I am one of the student representatives on my campus to advocate for student health care so I hear all of the complaints from our students. My spouse has also had experience with Anthem.