I don't mean to go on (too much of) a political screed, but...

I was thinking about applying this past cycle for policy programs, specifically in environmental policy where I have some background, but Trump's election sort of put the kibosh on that, at least for now. Admittedly, my initial decision to go ahead with applying was partially predicated on a Hillary Clinton victory, since she had quite a kick-ass plan in terms of fighting climate change and adopting clean energy. A Trump victory, however, is obviously bad for environmental policy, even leaving aside the fact that he thinks climate change is a Chinese-manufactured hoax. The fact that he's instituted a federal hiring freeze, looks to put the EPA's budget on the chopping block, and rolled back protections against student loan debt just makes things even worse. 

Having said all that, the situation with state and local governments leaves some room for hope and action. While the federal government may way roll back environmental protections and anti-climate change efforts, there's nothing stopping states, cities, and even private corporations from picking up the tab, even if that wouldn't be as effective without Washington's participation. California's already set up to do that sort of independent thing, so it's not unreasonable for other states to follow suit. And that's certainly going to involve more hiring to meets these goals, which would mean more work for policy analysts in that field. 

So the way I see it, there are potentially four options for me going forward:

1. Apply this year for Fall 2018 and take a chance that either Trump's anti-environmentalism gets tempered enough or that state/local governments expand their own environmental policies and hiring to fill the gap. This also runs the risk of going to school and no longer having Obama-era student loan protections, thus putting me in potentially worse financial shape down the line.