Looking for tips on organization of SOP

I have some topics written down for my SOP, but am looking for a way to organize it. I am applying for PhD programs in physical chemistry, and will pursue research careers after graduation.

background: I graduated in 2014 in chemistry. a time line is something like:

• undergrad 1st year - community volunteer outreach
  • undergrad 2nd year - underprivileged community outreach, elementary school teaching aide, 2 part-time job, research internship
  • undergrad 3rd year - research internship, 2 part-time jobs
  • undergrad 4th year - community arts program participant, college-level science TA,, private tutoring
  • undergrad 5th year - part time jobs, research internship, research internship abroad
  • post-grad 1 - unrelated full-time job
  • post-grad 2 - unrelated work, volunteer science outreach assistant/teaching aide
  • post-grad 3 - 3 part-time jobs, volunteer research

other stats: 1 conference presentation, 2 publications, 1 other poster, 162/162/5 GRE, taking subject test later this year

1. I think that my paper will be organized by year, since I think doing it by "type" of extracurricular could be confusing. So, if roughly one paragraph per year, would it be better to discuss my research experiences in the beginning of each paragraph, then outreach, then part-time work, or is it better to end each paragraph with the research experience? 

2.  My undergrad GPA is subpar (below 3.3), mostly because I was doing a lot and had kind of a naive attitude towards grades. Time after graduation gave me perspective and time to consider what i wanted to do and essentially mature. Is it a bad idea to talk about this? How else would I talk about the gap since graduation and the poor GPA? 

3. Are there different "rules" when writing SOP for science programs? I.e., keep it short and to the point, etc? 

Thanks. I know these are nit-picky details but trying to make sure everything is as close to perfect as I can make it.