Pursuing art history after a JD?

magpin

Hi guys, I'm in need of some general advice. 

I graduated from Bryn Mawr with a degree in History (GPA: 3.64), but focused all of my research, including my thesis, on art history. Instead of continuing down the academic path and accepting an offer to pursue an M.A. at Boston College, I turned it down to go to law school instead. (The choice was made easier by the fact that I essentially got a full ride.) Most of my research in college had dealt with images of Modern European nationalism, and I thought that I could advocate on behalf of artists with first amendment problems, intellectual property issues, etc. I interned with my local Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts, the Barnes Foundation, and worked in wealth management to learn more about legacy planning for artists and collectors. Everything was great!

I have since graduated from law school and work at a firm that specializes in business and intellectual property. Surprise, surprise, I have never felt further from the arts, and I have never felt less like I am supporting the industry that I wanted to work in. To add insult to injury, my job doesn't really support having outside interests, and, aside from having been invited onto the local Art Law Committee, I don't have the time to offset this terrible career choice with interesting and engaging hobbies. I have discovered that 85% of lawyers have an active distaste for culture, and I am very anxious because I see less and less of a space for myself in this field, especially because I don't (and can't) live in NYC (though Philly is fairly close).