Geography MA, maybe?

kartoshka

Hey all,

I'm currently embroiled in the applications process and wanted to see if anybody here could give me some insight. I'm applying to MA programs, possibly on the way to an eventual PhD (a number of years out of my undergraduate, where I studied an unrelated field) and was initially mostly looking at environmental studies/environmental humanities programs. My interests are wide-ranging but center around food systems and agricultural land use and I focused on interdisciplinary programs where I could work in a few different departments to hone my research. Interested in a sort of cross-section of environmental history, human geography, environmental sociology, Marxist theory, indigenous studies, political ecology. 

It's recently occurred to me that I might find a lot of this in a subject-specific MA, most likely a geography department strong in human-environment interaction and human geography. Any recs out there for master's programs that would fit the bill, or other interdisciplinary or social science programs that I might have overlooked? Thanks a bundle. 

You're right that your interests are wide reaching, and that  a geography program will "most likely" suit those interests; coincidentally, there are several factors that make your vague interests difficult to match with what is an inherently vague discipline...

First, you haven't mentioned any schools, therefore I would not be able to preclude any possible recommendations. I am pretty familiar with the geography programs at most if not all U.S universities from being encamped in the same process as you. This information would be useful in helping to determine locational tendencies which could then parlay into an expanded list of schools that may offer similar preferences.