columbia offer

AHPhDcandidate

Hi, I am new to this blog and wonder whether other people with offers from Columbia have been put under the same pressure as I am at the moment. They are making me a fully-funded offer but they want me to confirm that I am committed to them. How can I do that before I have heard from the other places where I applied? I thought that one would have the freedom of accepting or declining an offer until mid-April! Or am I wrong?

Thank you for whatever advice you may be able to give!

I guess unofficial, it was by phone

My impression is that schools want to be sure that the offers they extend are accepted. So they feel out the situation before formally accepting you. While not official, it sounds like a pretty safe offer. BUT, there is the risk that if you tell them you are holding out for another offer, they waitlist you instead of officially extending the offer. There are tons of threads on this- you should be able to search and find a few. It really is an uncomfortable situation to be in.

Perhaps someone has more insight in Columbia's inner workings and can be more helpful.

I guess unofficial, it was by phone

In that case I don't think you have to worry about committing until you get an official offer from the Dean of GSAS, the only person authorized to admit students. Say it's your first choice, massage their fragile academic egos (They just want their program to have the highest yield, after all). No matter what you say to the faculty, you are not obligated to do anything because the true offer doesn't come from them. You can now, however, use this as leverage and gauge interest in your talented self from the other programs to which you've applied. But, this "advice" comes from someone just as new to this process as anyone else, so don't take it as gospel!

And again, congrats!