Advice for Masters in Economics

Sabhya

HI

I am a resident of India currently applying Master in Economics programmes in USA and UK. 

Bachelor's degree from Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies, University of Delhi in Business Studies (3 year degree) : 78.33% overall. The degree involved a dissertation project as well. 

GRE scores : Verbal: 168, Quant: 164   IELTS: 8.5 

Please help me evaluate my chances of getting into one of the Top 30 universities 

Thanks in advance

Edited by Sabhya

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
On 10/20/2017 at 7:07 PM, Sabhya said:

HI

I am a resident of India currently applying Master in Economics programmes in USA and UK. 

Bachelor's degree from Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies, University of Delhi in Business Studies (3 year degree) : 78.33% overall. The degree involved a dissertation project as well. 

GRE scores : Verbal: 168, Quant: 164   IELTS: 8.5 

Please help me evaluate my chances of getting into one of the Top 30 universities 

Thanks in advance

Other than the GRE and IELTS scores other things matter too. According to BYJU's consultants, GRE has about a 30% weight-age on applications. IELTS is just a formality, nothing more. Other than these, you'll need a good CGPA scores, maybe blogs or published papers.

Best advice is to look up the school of Facebook or LinkedIn connect with their current student/alums and check out their profiles. Is there a vast difference? If yes, see how you can bridge that difference. Ask the students and alums about how you can bridge these, or talk to your current professors.

All the best!

P.S: Well done on the GRE scores. :)

• 5 weeks later...

Hi Sabhya,

First of all congrats on the scores, those are very decent numbers.

Other than your scores, have you made any publications pertaining to economics? If so, that would greatly help your chances.