Could applying to too many reaches leave a bad impression on LORs?

TheLastJedi

If I apply to only or mostly schools that are likely too ambitious for my profile, and I am willing to accept the risk that I may very well be rejected everywhere – could that make a negative impression on letter of recommendation writers? Maybe I am imagining things, but could it lead them to think of me as a cocky and arrogant person, or become reluctant to write LORs because they feel it’s a waste of time when I’m not going to be accepted anyway?

The reason why I’m suggesting this is because I feel getting a PhD (or any other degree) is a high risk career move – it is in general, but particularly for my situation since I’m an older/mature student, would have to quit my job, and already have a Master’s and therefore can’t get another one on the way.  So I think getting a PhD would be worth it in an ideal situation, but if not it may be too much of a risk and that I’d be better off not going. I don’t mean to sound negative or judgmental, but I’ve seen websites about how graduates of some schools in my field are more likely to get academic jobs than others (and I presume similar trends go for industry), and how some who got PhDs won’t even put it on their resume because it hurt them to appear overqualified. I know people don’t go for PhDs for the money, and I realize there are people who fail at a top school and succeed in a low ranked school. But I feel I need to be confident going into a program or else I might drop out.