Employed By Agency OR Directly By Company

In the school districts, you guys probably know that SLPs are either employed directly by the school district OR one of those agencies that places them w/ their job.  I don't really understand the benefit of going through a "middleman" employment agency, does anyone else?  From what I know & heard, they don't pay as high as the district itself.

I'm trying to get employment for my CFY.  These agencies contacted me before & after I graduated from grad school.  I guess they get my #/email from the university??  I had an interview with one district who said once you sign a contract w/ an agency, they MAY have a clause stating you can never directly work for the district later on.  I don't like that at all.  The agency set up the interview, but I haven't signed any contract w/ that agency.  I prefer direct hire myself.

My main desire at this point in my life is part-time employment & w/ benefits.  That shouldn't be too much to ask.  What do all you other aspiring SLPs do out there?  :)

Part time and getting benefits might be tough but I'm full time so no experience there. I talked to EBS a couple times this year before graduation but looking on the Reddit slp threads made me hesitant to do contract. No guarantee you'll stay at the same school each year and you're assigned and moved at their discretion it seems. If you're looking at medical, then contract is typically the way to go. Most snfs have agencies. I ended up direct hire which is how my school district is. But that varies by location.