Advice on how to proceed (Math/Econ student)?

Oscillation

I will try to keep this as short as possible. I used to be a molecular biology student, but during my sophomore year I decided that I was no longer interested in the subject. The reason had nothing to do with the subject, and all to do with the fact that political/economic problems seemed to be much more important to me than molecular problems, given the state the world is in. I dropped out of my university (unforunately I have Fs on my transcript as a result of this) and then enrolled in another university and began to study economics and mathematics. I've now taken advanced courses (including graduate level) in these subjects and studied the academic economics literature extensively (at least, portions of it which are of particular interest to me) in preparation for an Econ PhD program. I have come to the conclusion that economics is pure pseudo-science (which I always knew), and that it will always be that way (which is what I didn't accept initially). Not only that, but I'm convinced that there is no viable way to even build a secure base of economic theory so that economists could ever speak with (non-confused) confidence about anything.

That's the preamble. I think that I would like to go into molecular biology, but the problem is that I think it may be too late. I will soon have enough credits at my university for a double degree, and as a result, it seems I've backed myself into a corner with regards to my undergraduate education. Having become well acquainted with academia, I'm aware of the "locally small" nature of research questions that I would actually address in molecular biology. I'm also aware that I would have much broader employment opportunities and chances to be an academic as an Econ PhD. I don't care - even if I can't go to a program that places more than 75% of its graduates in academia I would be okay, so long as I'm doing something I find interesting in science.