A small anecdote about loving literature

As some of you may know (and if not, you know now...), I'm currently studying my ass off for the Subject GRE in April.

So today, during a particularly slow afternoon/evening in the store I work in, I was sitting and answering Princeton's mock exam, my Norton Anthology of English literature vol. 1 besides me (as was the Penguin dictionary of literary terms). After surprising myself and answering quite a few questions correctly, I was finally done (after two days) with the exam, and started looking at their recommended reading list. Immensely enjoyed reading Marlowe's The Passionate Shepherd to his Love again (it's been a while), and then moved on to their next recommendation.

and oh boy.

As I sat reading Ben Jonson's To the Memory of My Beloved, The Author, Mr. William Shakespeare, and What He Hath Left Us, I started crying. Not figuratively. Real tears were running down my cheeks, and I got all sniffly. Now, I've read this poem before. A few times, even. But it's been a while, and I was surprised by how very moved I was returning to it. So there I sat, sniffing and tears running down my face, from a poem, in the middle of a store (well, actually hiding behind the cash register), my heart feeling like it was going to burst.

So if anyone was wondering why I'm applying to grad school - I think this is the answer. Ben Jonson can move me to tears. Shakespeare can arouse every single human emotion in my body and soul. As can Chaucer. As can John Donne and Jane Austen. Cosgrove can make me roll on the floor with laughter, Swift makes me laugh, and think, and puzzle, and....

'nuff said, no?

Re: Subject Test