MsC Anthropology: LSE vs UCL

emilyuni

Hi everyone,

I recently received my offers in Social Anthropology (LSE) as well as Social and Cultural Anthropology (UCL).

Could someone kindly advice on the pros and cons of each university life and curriculum? I've narrowed down to these 2 choices but I'm stuck now.

As I am an international student taking out a hefty loan to study, I am conflicted on which university provides a 

(i) better course (support & range) 

(ii) employer reputation (both in UK and worldwide). 

(iii) availability of part-time /internship placements for international students

The rankings all say different things, so I hope to get some grounded insight from students like myself. Any information will be so helpful, thank you!

Emily

If you're an American student, I've been told by numerous people that if you plan on getting your PhD after getting your masters in the UK, it's a lot harder to get into a program. This is because most of the masters programs in the UK are only one year and many future professors think that it's not enough time to gain the experience needed for future studies. I'm not 100% in agreement with that statement, but I would say that you should take it into consideration. Maybe talk it over with your current professors and American students studying at these universities or who have studied there to see what they say about their experiences after finishing there.

I know that I really wanted to study at UCL for bioarch, but decided against it for numerous reasons, but mostly because of the cost of attendance for international students plus the cost of living in London is extremely expensive. If you don't have any funding from the university, I would suggest against attending the universities.