You're a linguist? So how many languages do you speak?

Dinali

Hehe. The question we've all answered a million times. Deep breath, launch into rote response "Linguistics isn't really about speaking a lot of languages, it's the study of blah blah etc."

My favorite moment related to this was in France. I studied at Bordeaux 3, taking their third year linguistics courses. I was with a group of other students, and one asked me what I studied in the US. Linguistiques, I replied. She immediately asked the above question. Before I could say anything, one of my French classmates rolled his eyes, took a breath, and launched into that exact speech, in French, that he'd given a million times. That's when I realized how small our field was.

I'm at the point where I think the Bachelor's degree basically IS just fully defining linguistics. I know people who didn't even really grasp the concept after completing Intro to Linguistics (and doing well).

Of course, one of my favorite explanations of the university system is:

I went to university until I thought I knew something about my subject. They gave me a Bachelor's. Then I went some more until I thought I knew everything about the subject, and they gave me a Master's. I went to school some more until one day, I realized that I knew NOTHING about the subject at all. That day they gave me a PhD.

(paraphrased, and I don't know the source. Sorry)

It's not the best metaphor by any means, but I used to explain it to people by equating language learning vs. linguistics to music performance vs. music theory - one is the act of doing the thing, and the other is studying the mechanisms behind it. Now I've gotten lazy, and a simple "I study how language works" usually works for the uninterested. Those that are interested, I'm happy to share more with!

*waves* hello fellow linguists! I didn't know there were so many of us on thegradcafe. Any semanticists around?