Decision dilemma (organic chemistry)

weishayu

Hi!!

My major is organic synthesis. I got two offers from Scripps Institute and Columbia. 

In my opinion, Scripps is the best school in organic chemistry. Baran and Yu are both super stars. Shenvi is also a rising star. I am a big fan of Baran. However, I don't like the pushing and competitive atmosphere at Scripps. And KC Nicolaou will leave Scripps in September 2013. Maybe the funding situation meet some little problems.

Although Scripps is better place for organic research, Columbia is also an excellent school in organic chemsitry. The academic environment is more free and not pushing. I prefer this free atmosphere at Columbia and the life in the international metropolis.

I have to make my final decision as soon as possible. 

I wanna beg some advice!!

Thanks.

It is without a doubt that one should instead go to Scripps and work for either Baran or Boger if you want a serious research experience in organic chemistry. I would say Yu is only of interest if you like organopalladium chemistry (not quite a suitable match for target driven total synthesis), but I hear he's much more selective, whereas Baran seems a bit more ready to take students of a diverse background; that and, examine Yu's chemistry more carefully and it becomes rather repetitive--the problem selection in that group is not so challenging and ingenious. Baran is quite a smart guy and being exposed to his research program is pricless--look at some of his alumni to date who have been quite successful (Burns at Stanford, Maimone at UC Berkeley, Shenvi at Scripps, Lewis at Cornell).