SLP Fall 2014

Hey everybody! I have been following these Forums for the last 5-6 months and am excited to be part of the applicant pool for the upcoming year! To get to know everyone, I'd like to start a discussion reviewing some GRE/GPA scores if willing to share and where everyone is hoping to get in!

I am starting my Post-Bacc at Portland State University in a few weeks... I got my undergrad from the University of Vermont (English, Child Psychology), left with a 3.19, Honors in major, and 3.4 in the last 50 semester credits, so I am returning for a second Bachelor's in Speech and Hearing Sciences and push for a 4.0. Figured it was a fair trade to improve my GPA and also qualify for some of the schools that only consider Speech and Hearing majors. I am presently studying for the GRE's, plan to take them the end of August and hoping to get above a 150 and ideally in 160's but I have a lot of studying to do :) I am a certified Montessori teacher and have worked in the classroom for 3 years, worked as a language tutor for 5 & 6 year olds, and volunteer at a local Speech Clinic. I'm hoping to open more doors once I move to Portland, there are some really interesting research programs. 

I am applying to pretty competitive schools so far but that may change when fall rolls in and my GRE scores become a reality as with my Post-Bacc GPA. My parents basically told me if it's not a top 25, I have to take out a loan, so I plan to buckle down these next few months and give it my all! I'm looking at University of Washington-Seattle, CU Boulder, Boston U, Emerson, MGH, UNC-CH, Northwestern, San Diego State, and Portland State. Most of these are long shots, but I figure if I don't get in for next fall I can at least take the year to pay off my Post-Bacc loan and try again :)

Where is everyone applying? What inclined your interest in SLP?

Hi NCAR823!