Nuclear programs Fall 14

1535nuke

Hi guys, let's keep updating posts in this thread. It is so hard to find nuclear engineering students.

These are my application status and results.

MIT - waiting

Michigan - waiting

Texas A&M - unofficial admission from committee (Ph.D). Fundings not determined yet.

UC Berkeley - waiting (department staff said the results will come in late Feb. but I do not expect good results. The professor I had made a contact does not accept students this time)

NCSU - waiting (Do not expect good results. Same reason as UCB)

Btw, I am an international student with 3.7/4.0 GPA (3.85/4.0 in major) and graduated this month with a BS degree in nuclear engineering. My GRE scores are V/Q/W - 152/170/3.5 (Yeah.. not good enough). I have 1.5 years of research experience; university lab (1year), nuclear based research institute in another country (4months) and now working at a domestic nuclear based research institute. I have no publications but won several competitions related to my major and won scholarships every semester.

I am still waiting on Michigan as well, they are going exceptionally slow. Wisconsin got back to me within 3 weeks of submitting the app.  I will go to Michigan if accepted, otherwise its Wisconsin for me.  I too interviewed with Berkeley and I visited there last year under the Edge program, but they do not have enough opportunities in plasma physics for me.

BTW,

I am a mathematics major w/ 3.85/4.0 GPA.  V/Q/W = 158/164/5.5 .  I worked in a plasma physics lab last summer, but did not publish anything.  Have several research presentations in computational mathematics and plasma physics.  I am wanting to do plasma physics in graduate school as well, hopefully either fusion or electric propulsion related work.  PRefer experimental work but theory is fine as well.

Wow, good to see you posting here!