Info or Advice for MPA/MPP

someguy67

Hello,

I've been contemplating applying to MPA/MPP programs for about a year now. I have not applied to any yet as there are so many different opinions and attitudes regarding these programs. First some background about myself. I graduated in December of 2012 from a small state school in Pennsylvania with a BA in Philosophy. My overall gpa was 3.9 and my major gpa was 4.0. I did not take any economics or statistics courses. My only work experience has been in retail. Due to my lack of applicable work experience and quantitative courses I do not believe I have a shot at any of the top programs. Therefore I have been looking at schools like Pittsburgh, Rutgers, Maryland, American, etc. I am leaning towards the MPP because I would like to work analyzing or researching social policy, particularly in poverty alleviation or human rights. I am concerned because it appears that many people believe these lower ranked schools are not worth the time and money. Would anyone recommend attending a lower ranked MPA/MPP program? I do not want to waste 2 years and 50,000 dollars and end up right back in a soul crushing retail job. I would greatly appreciate any advice or info. Thank you. 

I feel like each of the schools you mentioned (I've personally researched American and UMD for the same policy fields you're interested in) are still well-known enough institutions that attending their MPP programs would not relegate you to lower-tier policy work. For example, I work at a social policy research organization in DC where the experts' educational backgrounds vary from Harvard Kennedy and University of Chicago to George Mason and what do you know, Rutgers! :)