Mental Health in applications? Two Ws.

psyched_trojan2015

Hi everyone,

I'm curious, have any of you discussed about personal mental health issues in your applications? I know it's something to be very weary of, unless the application specifically asks for it. I'm just wondering because I've been experiencing major depression since junior high, and just recently was diagnosed with ADD. I'm particularly nervous about my transcript because of two classes I ended up dropping because I was in a really bad state of mind and I was afraid of jeopaordizing my GPA at the time. I have a 3.6 overall, and my major is at a 3.8. The two classes I dropped, one unrelated to major, but the other one was a class that falls under my major, which is Psychology. It's not a requirement, but an elective. I'm retaking it next semester and I'm determined to ace it, I was just in a bad place and didn't want to risk getting C/D but now i've picked myself up. I don't plan on going to grad school for Psychology, actually. I want to get an MA in American Studies and then go to law school afterward. I'm so paranoid that grad schools will look down on me because I dropped a Psychology class, am I worrying too much? Do you ever discuss your mental health in grad school applications? The last thing I want to do is to come across whiney and blame my mental health issues on my decision to drop those two classes. I just want to come across humble and to state that I've learned to cope with these set-backs in better ways that wont interfere with my ability to get work done. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Hi everyone,