Supervisor moving to Canada & wants me to go with....

I am a first year PhD student at a US institution who is a Canadian citizen. I received an email from my supervisor informing me that she is going to take a position at a Canadian university because of reasons and wants me to go with her. My dissertation is within the field of media studies/digital humanities focusing on media archaeology of scanning procedures and digital text production (i.e. rather specialized). It's in a interdisciplinary degree program and my supervisor, who is actually in English, is a fellow through it, supervising me.

The reason I came to the US institution was twofold. One was to work with my supervisor as  she does really unique work in media archaeology, and lets face it, who else does. The second was to move to the US as it is a lot easier to get PhD funding (at least for me in my field of humanities) through teaching and also to potentially make connections for after I graduate. Also there aren't nearly as many DH focused schools in Canada. 

If I move back to Canada I risk losing a potential future in the US but if I stay I lose the supervisor I need for my dissertation... Help!!!! SOS from a very sad canuck!

I think this is a really tough choice!! Sorry to hear that. I think it's really up to you to determine what is more essential for your success during and beyond your PhD--is it the US school's department, or will it be your specific supervisor? I don't think many people can help you! But maybe others in your field might be able to speak to how much supervisor fit vs program fit matters.