Admitted: Georgetown Conflict Resolution

Alex604

Not sure if there are many (any?) Georgetown CR folks here, but if so, what are your thoughts on the program?  

With only 5 more days until the decision deadline, I am having a very difficult time deciding if this is the right program for me (primarily due to the enormous price tag, despite being offered a moderate scholarship).

If you have decided whether or not to attend, what are the primary factors that contributed to your decision?

What are your long-term professional/academic aspirations and interests?  

Other thoughts/questions???

Hi, also admitted. What other programs are you applying for? Professionally, I'm hoping to be involved in inter-ethnic conflict analysis as well as stabalization and reintegration efforts, although I have no background in the field. You?

And yeah, the price tag is making me a little leary. I was able to make it to the open house, but I missed the alumni dinner and feel I have missed out on talking with the key people I need to contact.

Edited by fayetaver

Hey, great to hear from you.  I ended up accepting the offer today after receiving a small additional merit scholarship.  It wasn't an easy choice but I am pretty happy to be part of this program and think it will pay for itself as a result of their great career center and the marketability of the Georgetown name.

Sounds like you have some very interesting career objectives that are somewhat similar to my own.  I'm very interested in transitional justice and post-conflict reconciliation and truth telling initiatives, particularly in Africa (East Africa, even more specifically), though I imagine my interests and regional attachments will evolve while in this program.  I have some work experience in the region (Uganda) but look forward to more, hopefully next summer.