Motivation to Study for the GRE Needed!

ew2u09

Hello All,

I am a prospective MPH student who is planning to tackle the GRE sooner than later. I have taken it once before but over-analyzed the whole thing and did terrible. I recently met someone who is studying to get into a residency program and she said that she found a 'study partner' through a forum and they have been encouraging each other to stay on task with their studying. I would be interested in something like this for the GRE. 

A little background on myself:

- Received a BA in History from Ohio State (GPA: 2.85)

- Completed an AmeriCorps term through the Illinois Public Health Association (term just ended last month)

- Currently taking a public health graduate course at Ohio State

- Have volunteer experience in public health 

Hi ew2u09,

Regardless of whether you find a study partner or not, we should talk about your prior GRE experience (so that you can make the necessary adjustments and improve).

1) When did you take the GRE? And what were your scores?

2) What practice materials did you use? And how long did you study?

3) When are you planning to take the GRE again?

GRE Masters aren't born, they're made,

Rich

Hi ew2u09,

Regardless of whether you find a study partner or not, we should talk about your prior GRE experience (so that you can make the necessary adjustments and improve).

1) When did you take the GRE? And what were your scores?

2) What practice materials did you use? And how long did you study?

3) When are you planning to take the GRE again?

Rich

1) I took the GRE in March 2014. My scores were 141 Quant, 132 Verbal, and 3.5 for the writing portion.

2) I used materials from my local library and I purchased a Princeton Review Practice book. I was studying on and off from June 2013 up until the time I took the test. It wasn't until a couple of days before my test date that I found out that it is best to study for about a month.