Struggling between Macro MSW & MPA

Lauren A.

Hello everyone, 

I have been considering going to grad school for a while now. The only issue I'm having is trying to decide what I want to go back for. I graduated from my undergrad  program with a BSW with a minor in Child and Family studies. Then I went to work as a case manager. So the obvious thought would be to get my MSW. But I know MSW programs put a lot of focus on  direct practice and clinical studies, which I have decided is not the route I want to go. So I've been thinking about applying for an MSW but just with a macro/policy focus. Then I discovered MPA programs and it seems like that may be the better route. Does anyone have any advice?

Basically can anyone shed any light on the big huge difference between getting your MSW with a macro concentration and getting your MPA?

Thanks!

First, I can speak more to MPA's than MSWs, and I agree with TheCrow's comment -- what are your goals?

If your goals are to manage a government agency and/or evaluate public policy surrounding justice reform, poverty, or something similarly related to social work, then I think an MPA will do you just fine. You'll gain the credible skills to do these kind of things.

I'm not an MSW person (I have an MPA), but my understanding of an MSW -- irrespective of the concentration -- is that the degree is ultimately focused on direct service as a social worker. So, even if some people with MSW's ultimately do something other than become a social worker, most of your graduate school peers will be focused on becoming social workers. With an MPA, most of your peers will be focused instead on managing and evaluating policy from a macro level, which sounds like what you want to do.

Just my two cents!

1 hour ago, TheCrow said:

What are your goals? This is very specific to your goals.