Upcoming Semester

anxioushistorymajor

I'm new on here so hi.

I'm a European History major who is "starting" a graduate (MA) program in August. I say "starting" in quotes because I was an accelerated undergrad, so I took grad classes during my last undergrad year in order to get my MA in one year rather than two (while staying at the same university). I graduated last month with my BA and am moving right along into this program. 

I am a very anxious person (with my generalized anxiety disorder and major depression, mental health is always a bit of a challenge) so that's, predictably, starting to really come out in regards to my MA program. I have a lot of things going on in my personal life as well. The biggie in the personal life is... I'm 22 and (trying) to move out of the house for the first time. My mom is controlling and verbally abusive so it's a very difficult process.

But here are my program specific issues:

• I'm supposed to have three committee members but, at this time, only have two. The professor who was going to be on my committee (when we discussed this around the time I was applying, etc) is taking a leave next year. This kind of jumbled my plan, as I'm unsure of other professors who would be a good match. I'm very happy with the other two on my committee so no complaints there! It's just an issue of pressure to get this last one.