A game about linguistics

FlatAssembler

Hey, guys!

I've just made some game about linguistics in JavaScript. You can see it here:

http://flatassembler.000webhostapp.com/etymologist.html

Do you have some ideas on how to improve it that are easy to program?

I don't think I'd be able to add anything complicated to it. I am not a programmer and I can barely manage the 2000 lines of code it has now.

Can I ask what your goal is? Do you have any linguistics background? This is more coding than I could do, but I do have notes about its contents.

First, your framing is misleading. It doesn't work to show only one potential word pair at a time. Remember, linguistics determines whether two words are actually cognate by identifying 1) corresponding meanings and 2) recurring phonetic correspondences. One instance of an apparent phonetic match (especially without considering meaning) cannot show that two words are cognate. It can't even show that when every letter is the same! For example, Malagasy and Russian are not related just because Malagasy has vorona 'bird' and Russian has vorona 'crow'. You'd need more examples of v:v in both languages to show that that sound generally corresponds.

My simplest suggestion for re-framing would be to say something like, 'I have a set of cognates that have been shown through independent linguistic analysis to be cognates. This is a game to see how well your intuition matches those conclusions.' That seems like a harmless thing. If anyone walks away from this game thinking that's how cognates are established, you're feeding people an inaccurate sense of what linguistics can do, which I can't advise. Doing a kind of matching thing could be fun for people, if you're clear that they're guessing, not following a real method of analysis.