PhD vs. MSc

champion321

Can you give me a detailed overview of the difference between a PhD versus a MSc, and the pros and cons of each one? I'm a junior in undergrad, and I cant decide whether I should apply for a PhD or MSc. I've been doing some digging around on google and old threads, but I've been getting mixed results, some say to stay away from phd, others saying a phd will open more doors, others saying you will be overqualified for many positions. An overview on career options for each degree, job prospects, salaries, satisfaction, etc would be great. 

13 hours ago, Neuro15 said:

Sure we can run through the pros/cons, but it really boils down to what you want to do. So let’s start there. What do you want to do with your degree/ your career? 

I know I don't want to become a professor and teach, that I'm sure of. I enjoy doing experiments, and I am very good at doing benchwork stuff, but I don't want to stop with a bachelors and become a lab tech. I know that if I were to go on the academia route, then most likely I will have to teach, so I'm gearing towards the industry route currently. 

• 3 weeks later...
On 2/11/2018 at 3:27 PM, champion321 said:

I know I don't want to become a professor and teach, that I'm sure of. I enjoy doing experiments, and I am very good at doing benchwork stuff, but I don't want to stop with a bachelors and become a lab tech. I know that if I were to go on the academia route, then most likely I will have to teach, so I'm gearing towards the industry route currently. 

I have a M.S. and will finish a PhD in the next few months. While I've chosen to pursue academia as my own path, there are TONS of non-teaching options for you with a PhD that will be more difficult to attain with just a M.S.