Got acceptance to Texas Tech, need help

thnok

There is always a but. After trying for the even second year with a full of rejects, I just got my first email of acceptance from Texas Tech University but I did not get any mention of the funding. They've asked me to contact the department. This is for the PhD program for Computer Science. Is this normal? Any advice on how to proceed? The graduate advisor of the department hasn't been helpful when I mailed about the funding, got a response saying its limited. I'm an international student so hard to accept the offer without any funding.

Edited by Cyril

It has taken over a month after acceptances for me to get my full funding package however usually there is someone helpful in the department to contact about that. I would consider seeing if the department has an office manager you could talk to or if you know who you want to work with try contacting them to see if they are looking for a research assistant. It is normal for funding to be department based in CS.

If they say the funding is limited they're likely speaking the truth but you should be able to get a finalized answer with 2-3 weeks if you will be offered funding prior or if it still cannot be guaranteed if you attend.

9 hours ago, there_is_a_so_long_wait said:

congrats... is deadline 4/15?

Program deadline? Program was rolling basis. 

7 hours ago, Elephas said:

It has taken over a month after acceptances for me to get my full funding package however usually there is someone helpful in the department to contact about that. I would consider seeing if the department has an office manager you could talk to or if you know who you want to work with try contacting them to see if they are looking for a research assistant. It is normal for funding to be department based in CS.