I couldn't find a good decisions thread for International Relations masters so I figured I'd start my own -- currently over analyzing every minute of every day which program I should accept for my masters degree.  I am an older student and would like to end up at the United Nations (either US or abroad).  I am currently deciding between:

SIPA - accepted with no aid

Fletcher - accepted with significant scholarship

I keep going back and forth between the financial benefit of attending Fletcher (and the focus on law and diplomacy); and the proximity to the UN of SIPA and of course my dream of attending Columbia.  I am also still waiting to hear back from London School of Economics, which is a one year program (vs. two for Fletcher/SIPA).  SIPA and LSE appear to be more well known than Fletcher globally, but I really don't have a good grasp on what the best decision is.

Sorry for rambling, thoughts and guidance is much appreciated :)

I can't speak from experience, but the Diplomat in Residence at my undergrad was always praising Fletcher in terms of the connections to diplomacy world. I wouldn't worry terribly about the proximity to the UN (though it does clearly have perks), as I have little doubt you could make internship connections through Fletcher

In short, I think both programs are well-suited to prepare you for a diplomatic job and relatively comparable. With that in mind, I would go to the option that is funded over the one that is not. SIPA would be a considerable expense with no funding for what I think would ultimately be a marginal difference.

JRS218 - thanks for your thoughts.  They seem to be in line with the advice I’m getting.  It would just be incredibly tough to turn down an Ivy League. If I am able to get into the London school of economics, that program may win over both since it’s only one year.  

Thanks much for the help 

@Kelly1015