Research experience while working

anberry15

My goal is to earn a PhD in ecology with a focus is either estuarine ecology or biological oceanography. However, I am a Naval Academy graduate and did not get much research experience there, unfortunately those opportunities don't really exist at Navy. Now I am working as a Data Analyst in the Boston Area and trying to figure out if there is any way possible for me to get research experience part time while I work, or any other suggestions that could help propel me towards my PhD goal. Thank you for any suggestions!

So one thing I think you could easily do is try to find a volunteer research position or other entry level research positions (field technician and other temporary or seasonal positions). These are often advertised on places such as Texas A&M job board (see link below) - which is not only for jobs based out of Texas or that university, usually the ads are on the national or international level. If you do some searching you might be able to find some other list services that could list positions you might be able to apply to.

https://wfscjobs.tamu.edu/job-board/

Another thing you could do is try looking at universities in your area (which if you are in Boston area there should be plenty) and try to find a lab/professor who is doing stuff that you would like to have experience in. Then you could reach out by email to that professor and ask if there are any volunteer positions available in their lab or upcoming. If they have grad students in their lab needing field hands they may very well take you up on that and get you some opportunities volunteering. I had a volunteer in my lab during my Master's that did exactly what I suggest you do and helped volunteer with several different things in the lab.