UChicago's Computational Social Science vs Columbia's QMSS

Manassas

Hi everyone! 

I got an offer from both and am trying to decide where to go. I have seen previous posts from people deciding between the two programs, but I would love to hear an update from current students, alumni or anybody. I would like to do a PhD (most likely in political science) afterwards. Which program is better? Does anybody have placement results from the two programs? 

For current students in either program, how do you like the curriculum? What's your opinion about the faculty? Do you think the program prepare you for a PhD study? 

Thank you in advance! 

One big difference is Chicago's program is two years, whereas QMSS is one year. If you don't have full funding that's something to take into account.

I am a little bit familiar with QMSS (I considered it myself, and I got my PhD at Columbia where we had QMSS students in our lab and in a lot of my classes). Chicago's program I am not familiar with. My impression, based solely on the Chicago website, is that their emphasis is on getting students into PhD programs - they say specifically that they anticipate most graduates to go to funded PhD programs. QMSS placements seem relatively balanced between PhD programs and jobs in industry...but they seemed to lean slightly more on the side of employment in a quantitative social scientist role outside of academia (if you look at their placement page - that's where most of their students are placed). That may be because of the motivations of most of the students when they enter, and I know that if you want to get into a PhD program from QMSS you certainly can.