UT vs KU for MA

rkr2594

Hi all,

I’ve narrowed my choices down to UT Austin and KU and I’m having a really hard time choosing.

I have lived in Texas pretty much my whole life. I know UT is supposed to have an amazing program. I have been unimpressed with their level of responsiveness, but that’s pretty par for the course with everyone I know’s experiences with them, no matter the context. The students I’ve talked to all seem to love the program and love the professor I’d likely work with. 

KU has been amazingly responsive and offered generous funding so that it is significantly more affordable than UT, even though I’m a Texas resident. My visit there was jam-packed and they were clearly trying to woo me. I didn’t particularly love it, any more or less than UT.

UT- thesis; KU- no thesis, exam

so my question is to y’all, what is the weight of KU’s program vs UT? If I was to carry on to a PhD (im considering it but I really don’t know and have no intention to commit to the idea until I get back in school) which would serve me better? Or are they equal, all things considering. I think I would prefer to work with the potential adviser at UT than at KU, but at KU I would not be writing a thesis so would not be working so closely with him so maybe it doesn’t matter as much.

both are affordable, but KU is much more so. I’d have to get creative for UT.

thanks for any input!

I don't have much direct knowledge of KU vs UT's programs, but it's worth considering the fact that UT is decimating its fine arts library (to be fair, I don't know what KU's library is like). The faculty, students, and museum are all very against this, but it seems like an uphill battle to prevent the books from disappearing. 

https://www.austinchronicle.com/arts/2018-03-30/changes-at-uts-fine-arts-library-cause-a-rift-in-the-college-of-fine-arts/

https://hyperallergic.com/433583/fine-arts-libraries-books-disappearing/

Edited by curatortobe