hey everyone, i am an undergraduate student who's about to graduate this semester with a B.S in chemistry. I will be attending graduate school this fall for chemistry Phd and I've been debating between three different schools to attend, Stony Brook, Boston University, and Michigan State University. I was wondering if I can get some advice from which school would be the best option for me and my situation.

First, my research of interest is materials chemistry, specifically within electrochemistry/nanoscience for energy production. For Stony brook, the faculty I'm really interested in do research with batteries and electrochemistry and I really love their work and they even requested for me to join their group which was very exciting, however as a person who's lived in NYC for most of my life, I'm kind of sick of the place (not because I don't like urban cities, but becuase I've lived in new york for too long and I feel its unhealthy for my life being essentially in 1 place for too long) and would like to move somewhere different ( still in a city overall but a new environment and new types of people)  and I'm not a fan of the long island location  (at all) either and I don't think I would be comfortable living there espeically since its the suburbs with high cost of living, however, the prospect of brookhaven national lab is also something to consider and the P.I that I want to join and have a good chance of joining is very distinguished (Esther Takeuchi).