Undergrad research dissimilar to PhD program

zoologyandc

Hello, everyone! I’m an undergrad senior (zoology/EEB major) who spent the last 3.5 years working in an arabidopsis and algae phenotyping research lab. That happened to be where the job openings were, so that’s where I’ve been working ever since. Problem is, I’m applying to a PhD program in comparative biology and zoology, so sort of the opposite side of the spectrum. My question is: will the fact that my undergrad research experience was in plants hurt my application to zoology PhD programs? Thanks, and I apologize if I’m posting this in the wrong place - first time poster!

Edited by zoologyandc
added more information

From my experiences so far in grad school (finishing up my Master's and just finished the decision of where I will attend PhD) I don't think it matters maybe what kind of research you have done as long as you have solid research experience. I definitely applied to labs where the research being done isn't necessarily things I have done before and I was a very competitive applicant based off of the fellowships I received and such.

Do you have publications that are going to come from your time in that research lab? Or presentations? Because I think those things go a long way in showing you are familiar with the workings of science and academia and greatly improve your application. Also you will have someone who has done research with you who can write you a letter of recommendation and that should help too. I think most professors understand that not everyone is going to have experience in the exact subfield they want to do their PhD in so I ultimately don't think it will hurt you. Some professors might not be as keen, but they might not be the type of professors you want to work with anyway.