JD/Practicing Attorney - Currently working on LLM thinking of making switch to PhD

Hi all,

First, thanks for any guidance you might be able to lend me. I would note at the offset that I am currently studying for, but have not taken, the GRE. I recognize that my score will weigh heavy on my chances. 

I'm an attorney currently enrolled in a top Tax LLM program. At some point during the last semester, I realized that the through-line between all of the classes I have enjoyed has been a focus on more academic approaches to law. Suffice it to say, I realized that I really want to make a change and pursue a PhD in public policy or political science.

A few questions broad questions. First, I went to an Ivy League undergraduate school, but was debt-averse for law school so I went where I had a full ride -- not a bad school, by any means, but nothing to brag about. The LLM program I am in, however, is the top program in the US for that particular (very niche) field. Should I finish out the LLM (I'm about 1/3 completed) in order to be a "more interesting" candidate for a PhD program?

Second, I have noticed a few mentions of JD-cum-PhD applicants but not a lot of discussion of ultimate outcomes -- could any of those that might come across this weigh in?

Third, taking all comers, what are tangible things that you did/will do/should have done that you think influenced your acceptance to a top tier program? If you were transported back to 9 or 10 months before you wrote your applications, what would you do (differently or again)? Try to get something published? Focus more heavily on acing the GRE? 

Thanks all!

Hello,