Applying to 'elite' ecology programs with low GPA?

chaeTo

I'm preparing to apply to Ecology graduate programs and would like to start in the Fall of 2019.  The schools I am most interested in are UC Davis, Stanford, UC Berkeley, Colorado State, Yale, Duke and UVa.  

I graduated in 2014 with a GPA of 3.02.  GPA by semester: 2.98, 2.82, 2.16, 3.15, 3.30, 3.44, 3.80 (semester abroad so not part of 3.02) and 3.54.  Luckily this shows a steady upward trend, and the last 4 semesters are significantly higher than 3.02. However, the minimum GPA at most schools I'm applying to is 3.0, with 'suggested' GPAs of 3.25 and higher. 

Outside of my GPA I have some resume highlights; 3 years of field work and research project participation, a peer reviewed paper in review for publication (2nd author), 2 poster presentations at large conferences, symposium speaker at a large conference and multiple independent research projects.  Additionally I am currently studying HARD for the GRE and generally do well on standardized tests.  I expect strong letters of recommendation.  

Given this information, do I have enough "other stuff" going for me to have any hope of getting into a program at these schools?  Is there a specific way I should frame my GPA in applications?  I don't really have an excuse except that I got much better at studying and much more motivated in my last 2 years of school.

Thanks in advance for any advice!