MA Speech Pathology without ugrad major?

seyeau

Hi,

I'm currently a junior in undergrad and I'm planning on applying to MA programs in Speech Language Pathology next fall semester. My school doesn't offer an SLP or Communication Disorders major, but I'm a Linguistics major, with a 3.92 GPA. That being said, its difficult for me to find people/faculty who are knowledgeable about SLP programs, requirements, and generally what I can be doing to improve my application. I know a lot of applicants try to find work during undergrad related to the profession. My question is, for those of you who have done this, how do you go about doing it? Do I just call up SLPs in private practice out of the phone book? Should I contact hospitals? What do I say to them? Is the work you do like clerical stuff, or is it helping out/shadowing the actual SLP? How long/how often do you work? I'd like to try to do some work like this over the summer, so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

On 3/9/2010 at 6:28 PM, seyeau said:

Hi,

I'm currently a junior in undergrad and I'm planning on applying to MA programs in Speech Language Pathology next fall semester. My school doesn't offer an SLP or Communication Disorders major, but I'm a Linguistics major, with a 3.92 GPA. That being said, its difficult for me to find people/faculty who are knowledgeable about SLP programs, requirements, and generally what I can be doing to improve my application. I know a lot of applicants try to find work during undergrad related to the profession. My question is, for those of you who have done this, how do you go about doing it? Do I just call up SLPs in private practice out of the phone book? Should I contact hospitals? What do I say to them? Is the work you do like clerical stuff, or is it helping out/shadowing the actual SLP? How long/how often do you work? I'd like to try to do some work like this over the summer, so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!