Is Coursera/Edx helpful?

Iris Che

Hello every one, I am new here. I am currently a junior student majoring in advertisement, but I have been thinking about applying for art history programs for long (prefer Greek/Roman Art, or Ranaissance, Baroque). So I registered some public elective courses in the related field, like the History of Chinese Gardens, Visual Art, etc. 

As I was looking around in the forum, I saw someone applying for the 18 Fall says that he was rejected probably because he barely took upper division courses, despite that he has 2-3 years of working experience in a museum. This makes me feel more worried about myself. I am also learning online, so I wonder whether the online courses can do any help in explaining my passion or eligibility. 

As to the GRE, I do not specifically worry about it. But I doubt to what extent will it help me?  Say that I get V165, AW4.5 or 5, will this score greatly improves my chance of being accepted by a comparably good program? 

Thanks for your help!

• 2 weeks later...

Hey there!

If you are thinking about applying for art history programs (I'm assuming at the Master level), then I would recommend seriously bulking up on some related courses. You should have around 30 credits in art history before applying to a specific program. Additionally, you need to seriously hone in on a specialty within art history. There are some MAJOR differences between Greek art, Roman art, the *Renaissance, and Baroque. Greek and Roman art are NOT the same thing.

The GREs will not help out as much as you would like. While a good GRE will not secure you a spot, a bad GRE will certainly keep you out.