M.Arch w/ non-traditional experience

Hi everyone,

I'm planning on applying to some M.Arch 1 programs, and I was wondering if anyone had any advice or insight on my application considering it may not be the traditional applicant's background. I'm not coming from a design or architecture background and have only practiced and studied independently in the field. I know that most M.Arch programs are first professional degrees but I still worry that my lack of design experience will automatically disqualify me. I do think that there are some interesting aspects to my application though, I graduated magna cum laude in economics, I've been teaching math for the last two years with Teach For America in an inner-city school, and I have had fellowship positions working on policy with the department of education. I've also already taken the GRE and my scores seem to be on par with some of the ivies. I'm planning on leveraging the idea of design thinking in policy and also plan on catering my portfolio to design experiences around my teaching experience. I'm just wondering everyone's thoughts on my background and maybe a good way of leveraging my experience and catering it toward architecture. I've seen some programs like SCI-Arc seem to like non-traditional experience and a social studies background, I also really like the work that I've seen the students do there and I'm interested in the avant-garde approach they take, so I was thinking of trying to apply there even though I know it's a tough program to get into. Any experience or guidance would be helpful, thank you in advance for any help!

• 2 weeks later...

Hello! Applying can be an intimidating process but it sounds like you're right on target (especially with the pesky GRE conquered).