Cultural Studies Emph. Ph.D. Program Recommendations?

Hi everyone! I'm new to GradCafe, so there may possibly be a better/different place for this question. I apologize if there is!

I'm currently in an English/C.S. MA program here in Florida and will be applying to Ph.D. programs for Fall 2019. I've come up with a list of programs to read a bit more into and consider, but I would love some more recommendations. My research interests involve critical race theory and post-colonial studies, especially as they pertain to slave narratives and motherhood in African American literature and popular culture (in case this helps with your recommendations).

My short list as of right now include:

UPenn, Carnegie Mellon, Umass Amherst, UC San Diego, Boston University, UC Riverside,  Boston College,  UNC Chapel Hill, and Harvard.

I'll be retaking the GRE in October and prefer not to take the Subject Test in English. My B.A. is in Political Science/ International Relations so I'm not sure it would show me in the best light.

Thanks for your input!

Welcome, SydCaesar! You've come to exactly the right place!

Some questions for you: what angle are you approaching cultural studies from? What about the universe of cultural studies is most important to your work? Is it an emphasis on or openness to critical theory/Continental philosophy? Working with texts across media? Or more generally taking a culture, rather than a literary topic, as your main object of study, as with American Studies, Black Studies, Chicanx Studies, etc., programs? It seems to me that "cultural studies" means many things to many people, so I want to make sure I understand what articulation of it you're engaging with.